top of page

Dubai Diaries: The Wedding-Day 2

Written by Bhumi H.


The next day we woke up a bit later, and then got ready to go to the “Dikh Sherabandi”, (I don’t understand the name either), which is something where the Groom does some prayers with the priest and then some other important tasks. Apparently, they ripped off my uncle’s shirt (it’s supposedly a part of tradition). Something about him not being a bachelor anymore (I still don’t think you should rip off their shirt though). I’m kind of glad I didn’t have to see that because I left early to get my hair and makeup done.

Slowly we reached the area where the actual Seven Vows were going to take place and the bride’s side greeted us. Then they had some weird ceremony where the groom and bride had to find each other through a curtain.


I don’t really remember much, except that my uncle took off his shoes and we hid them because it is a tradition for the groom’s side to hide the groom’s shoes and then the bride’s side to look for them; it’s sort of a competition. But yeah, the bride’s side did not find the shoes and we won. Then they had the Seven Vows, which took a really long time.

After, we all left to go get ready for the reception. It was at the same area that the Ring Ceremony took place. Here is a picture of me, because I looked fantastic if I do say so myself.


We didn’t do much at the reception, everybody just congratulated my uncle and my aunt. We all had dinner together and we took a bunch of family pictures, but that’s pretty much it. We all went home pretty early, as we were tired. We all went to sleep because we would have to wake up early the next day.

The next day, we gave all our luggage to my grandparents and Aadi, my mom, my dad, my two uncles, and I all went to Expo 2020, that was a whole new adventure. There is so much that we did in the Expo, that I dedicated a whole section just for that!


bottom of page