top of page

Dubai Diaries: Arriving and Before the Wedding

By: Bhumi H.


Once upon a time, there was a young girl who was born in Dubai and lived there for 5 years before moving to America. She visited Dubai twice after that, but she barely remembered anything because of how young she was. Many plans came up to go back, but due to Covid, she wasn’t able to travel. But now, the girl has gone back to Dubai for her uncle’s wedding, and she was extremely excited. Yes, that girl is me. And yes, I traveled to Dubai! Since Dubai is a place so many people want to visit, I wanted to record my experience there and share it with everyone. So here is everything I did in Dubai.


Arriving

We arrived in Dubai on December 4th, two weeks after my dad had arrived. My dad and my grandpa picked us up and then we went to my great uncle and aunt’s (I like to think of them as my grandparents) house, where we would be staying. When we got there, my grandparents greeted us and were over the moon to see us. They were surprised to see “how much we had grown,” and they kept hugging us. I must admit, it was a bit awkward at first, but I got used to it. Over the next few days, more and more of my family came . It is tradition to live together before weddings, so we all stayed at our grandparents’ house. My cousin Lucky, who came from India, is 1 year younger than me. Since we could relate to each other, we became each other’s companions for the trip.




Before the Wedding

We had arrived just about 5 days before the wedding, this gave us time to explore the city. It took some time getting used to everything, but before we knew it, we had a daily routine. We would wake up late, laze around, and have breakfast after we took our showers. Then we would laze around some more, have lunch, and go shopping, since my mom is a huge shopping fanatic. My dad had work to do, so my mom, my brother and I mostly went shopping by ourselves, traveling by metro and finding our way around.


bottom of page